Thing Creation: Christmas

Now that Christmas has come and gone, I can share the gifts I created for friends and family. I had a lot of fun making these.

For one of my little sisters, I cast a 2×2 pewter Lego brick and added four translucent colored pieces to make a pendant. The pieces aren’t glued on so she can customize it however she wants using the magic of Lego.

img_7053

For a friend, I made a small hexagonal pendant and then glued on a 0.19 gram Alaskan gold nugget.

img_7054

My initials are stamped on the back, and a thin piece of copper wire provides extra security for the gold nugget.

img_7056

For one of my brothers I ordered a custom jigsaw puzzle featuring pictures I’ve taken around the Columbia River Gorge. I also gave him this little thing as sort of a joke–it’s a model of BB-8 from The Force Awakens made of the red wax that covers those miniature Babybel cheeses. My brother left some of that wax on my truck’s seat on a hot day this summer and it melted into the fabric. The “eye” is a glow-in-the-dark star from my ceiling, which my brother accidentally knocked off when he was visiting me. And the container is from my antidepressant medication.

img_7259

Finally, for my father I glued a few photographs from around my town to a thin piece of wood that I rescued from the scrap bin at work.

img_7260

Leave a Reply

