The Great American Road Trip – Day 14

Last night in Wyoming was really cold. When I woke up it was 45 degrees and the low for today was 34. I stayed warm enough, though the cold did interrupt my sleep.

I left quickly after I woke up, using the heater for the first time, and drove down to Jackson, WY and over Teton Pass into Idaho. I spent most of the day on rural highways rather than interstates, so my view of the mountains was up close and majestic. I also saw a badger by the road somewhere in Idaho.

img_5776-1

My main stop today was Craters of the Moon National Monument, a very alien-looking volcanic landscape. It’s evading description, so have some pictures:

image

image

image

I’m now 331 miles from home, but tomorrow’s drive will be closer to 375 because I’m at a campground in Oxbow, OR that’s 22 miles from Hells Canyon. There is no phone service here but the campground has terribly crappy wi-fi that has trouble uploading my images. If you see a picture below these words, then I have succeeded. Also if you see pictures above these words. If you see any pictures at all in this post, my efforts have not been in vain.

img_5800

Day 14 Statistics

States: WY, ID, OR

Daily Miles: 544.6

Total Miles: 8713.3

Leave a Reply

