The Great American Road Trip – Day 5

I’ve finally visited some new states. In northwest Arkansas this morning I met a friend at a beautiful memorial chapel:

Then we got lunch in downtown Bentonville, where I saw this Cadillac covered in coins:


After lunch I drove down to Jackson, MS. I crossed a cool bridge over the river between Arkansas and Mississippi:


I arrived in Jackson at about 6:45 p.m. to meet another friend for dinner, and had Creole shrimp and grits which was very delicious.

There isn’t much more to say about today. It was just a lot of driving and meeting friends. I think I may be farther south right now than I’ve ever been…I’m in a Wal-Mart parking lot just south of Jackson. Tomorrow morning I’m heading to New Orleans, which will be the southernmost point of my trip, and of my life so far.

Day 5 Statistics

States: KS, MO, AR, MS

Daily Miles: 708.2

Total Miles: 3207.2

Leave a Reply

