The Great American Road Trip – Day 2

Today I discovered that my truck is electronically limited to 100 mph.

I also drove for a long time…the second-longest I’ve ever driven in a single day (the reigning champion is a 900+ mile drive from central Oklahoma to Flagstaff, AZ). I hit the road before five a.m. and set a new nonstop driving record of 310 miles, from Lovelock to the Utah border. To increase that record I’ll have to drive something with a bigger gas tank or better fuel economy; my truck is getting just under 20 mpg where mountains and 70-80 mph speed limits are involved.

I wasn’t expecting rain at the Bonneville Salt Flats but the whole place was quite soggy, so instead of salt I got to see mirrored mountains.

IMG_4915

Most of my day was spent traversing northern Nevada and Utah, but I took a significant detour in the afternoon to see Arches National Park. It was time consuming, which was perfect since I started so early. The place is incredible, and I couldn’t take enough pictures. I’ll share two of them with you today.

IMG_4991IMG_5026

I’ve stopped for the night just east of Grand Junction, CO. Tomorrow will involve much fewer miles and a lot more fun. I’m finally visiting the Colorado Rockies via I-70, something I have wanted to do for a long time.

Day 2 Statistics

States: NV, UT, CO

Daily Miles: 829.6

Total Miles: 1521.4

Leave a Reply

