Fuel Injected Freedom: New Truck and an Engine Swap

Last time, I wrote about the twelve cars I acquired in 2015, which I mostly got by trading. I ended the year with five vehicles: Toyota Tacoma, Mazda Miata, Volvo V40, 1981 Porsche 924, and of course my beloved 1987 Porsche 924S.

The Volvo went to my brother after a few repairs and is running very nicely. One interesting feature we discovered is that the passenger side engine mount was missing the long bolt through the center, thus hanging only from the rubber. So that was the source of the weird knocking sound during acceleration.

The Miata went to a guy with a beard. I’m sure he’ll love it.

The Tacoma went to a local young guy who needed a good daily driver. I’m sure he’ll be annoyed by it, but it’s reliable.

So what am I driving now? Well…

IMG_4275

It’s a 2006 Toyota Tacoma, the newest vehicle I’ve owned by five years. Just like my previous truck it has a four cylinder engine, manual transmission, and four wheel drive.

I’m looking forward to driving it across the country this June and sleeping in the back.

IMG_4129 - Copy

I unexpectedly discovered I had to move by the end of March, so I sold my 924 track car project. It went to a Porsche enthusiast who wanted something to work on, along with three extra engines and a lot of other parts, all of which I crammed into the car and my truck before hauling it all to the guy’s house.

Speaking of engines! My one remaining Porsche–the one that always remains–has finally gotten its long-awaited engine transplant. I spent a recent Saturday removing the old engine and bolting in the 16 valve DOHC upgrade.

IMG_4213

IMG_4214

There is still much more to do before I can drive it, like probably putting the timing belt on. But to have the engine in the car is a big step, especially since it took eleven hours of hard work, the help of a friend, an eighteen inch pizza, and some alcohol to get it done.

I also had a few moments of pure ingenuity when faced with difficulties, such as building a contraption to remove the old pilot bearing that involved a bolt, two nuts, a homemade flywheel lock, a giant C clamp, and a four pound sledgehammer.

Finally, the 924S sits on freshly painted, lightweight, and very rare wheels with new high performance tires. After wrapping up the engine swap and installing some new suspension parts, it should be ready for driving this summer. Still to come: new paint, lots of new leather for the interior, and hopefully a plastic gas tank from a 944 that is both larger and more durable than the original metal one.

IMG_4249

Leave a Reply

