Fuel Injected Freedom: RACECAR!

924 01

Sad little car with silly little headlights.

A week ago I brought home another Porsche. I know, let’s not talk about my addiction this time. I have been suitably rebuked by my friend who saves his money in…well, money form, rather than vehicular form.

This one is a 1981 924, the lighter and weaker predecessor to my 924S. I got it for $400 with a kind of messed-up interior, front end damage, and a dismantled engine.

924 03

It isn’t so bad…until you scoot the seats forward and discover the mold. It’s the fungus of nightmares.

Rather than taking this one apart, I’m turning it into a track car. I still haven’t decided on what exactly to do with the engine, but it will have more power and less weight, which equals great fun of course.

The first things to deal with are the unneeded and very moldy interior, the body, and the tired old suspension. The complete interior removal took several hours over a couple of afternoons, and that was a lot of weight. Moldy carpet went in a dumpster, as did half of the dashboard.

924 06

After some cleaning up, the interior will be ready for paint. Yes, I did put a round gauge in a square hole. So classy.

Parts that aren’t total crap have been set aside to be sold. I installed a manual window regulator…which I had lying around…in the driver’s door. I have too many parts lying around, but it’s making this process a lot of fun because I can do plenty of work without spending any money.

One side at a time on two separate days, I swapped out the front hubs, spindles, brake calipers, and struts for the ones I took off my last parts car. While I was at it, I replaced the old fenders with ones from a 944, which will allow me to run wider wheels.

924 05

These wheels aren’t wider, they’re just temporary.

Finally, to finish up my first week of work on the car, I assaulted the front end with a sledgehammer, crowbar, and a cordless drill. After running out of battery power for my drill, I went to the hardware store and bought a Dremel with a tungsten carbide cutting tip. The ability to slice right through steel is an awesome power, and this magnificent little tool is one of my favorite non-car purchases. Expect more stories of steel-slicing as I go crazy with my new Dremel and shave off the weight piece by piece.

924 07

The way this all fits together gives me such great satisfaction.

That’s the nose panel from my 924S, which looks a little traumatized now. Don’t worry, 924S, I have a special vented nose panel on the way for you.

IMG_3616[1]

“What the heck are you doing to me?!”

Leave a Reply

